What do we do? » Awards and Grants » Prof. Sir Don Beaven Award

The Professor Sir Donald Beaven Memorial Award has been created in memory of Don Beaven, a strong supporter of, and advocate for our profession.  It is designed to support therapists undertaking postgraduate study. 

Born in Christchurch and educated at Christ’s College, Sir Don studied medicine at Otago University and became an internationally respected and honoured teacher and researcher. Although Sir Don was world-renowned for his untiring advocacy and support for people with diabetes, he was also an ardent supporter of the speech-language therapy profession. Sir Don was passionate about the development and rehabilitation of communication skills. He was also a strong advocate for the development of the University of Canterbury Bachelor of Speech-language Therapy programme. Sir Don continued to support the programme long after its establishment through regular visits, participation in Departmental seminars and mentorship of staff and students. This award honours Sir Don’s contribution to speech-language therapy in New Zealand.

Grant value: $1000 is open to members who are current postgraduate students.

Application and Eligibility


  • Enrolled in postgraduate study relevant to speech-language therapy
  • Completed a minimum of six months of the qualification
  • Membership of the NZSTA for two years or more
  • The application must be endorsed by the senior supervisor of the postgraduate research project.

Factors considered in decision making

  • Relevance to speech-language therapy practice in New Zealand
  • Previous academic achievement

  • Complete the application form with a CV and research proposal
  • Provide a letter of support from your supervisor

The completed application must be received by the NZSTA Administrator at admin@speechtherapy.org.nz.


The winner of the Professor Sir Donald Beaven Memorial Award will be determined by the NZSTA Awards Committee and will be announced at the NZSTA AGM each year.


Research findings will be shared with the NZSTA membership through an appropriate forum determined in conjunction with the professional development portfolio holder.

Download application form

Award Recipients from Previous Years

  • 2022: Awarded to Elizabeth Cross
  • 2021: Awarded to Catherine Sivertsen Campbell and Robyn Gibson
  • 2020: Awarded to Marie Jardine 
  • No applications received in 2019
  • 2018: Awarded to Lucy Sparshott 
  • 2017: Awarded to Sarah Pitcher 
  • 2016: Awarded to Jessamy Amm 
  • 2015: Awarded to Sarah Davies