What do we do? » Awards and Grants » Grace Gane Memorial Lecture

The Grace Gane Memorial Lecture recognises significant contributions to the profession of speech-language therapy and takes place at the biennial NZSTA conference.  


The Grace Gane Memorial Lecture Award was instituted in 2008 to honour Miss Grace Gane, who is regarded as one of the founders of the New Zealand Speech-language Therapists’ Association.  

Miss Gane was one of three students in the inaugural 1942 speech therapy class at Christchurch Teachers College.  The New Zealand Speech Therapists’ Journal was founded in May 1946 with Grace Gane as its first editor. 

The inaugural Grace Gane Memorial Lecture was presented in 2008 by Associate Professor Margaret Maclagan in recognition of her contributions to the education of speech-language therapy students for over 20 years.

 Image:  Suzanne Purdy delivers Grace Gane Lecture in 2019

Selection criteria

The nominee has significantly contributed to speech-language therapy in Aotearoa New Zealand, and/or internationally through teaching, promotion of the profession, research, or clinical advancements.
The nominee does not need to be a speech-language therapist, but the nominating committee must specify the person's contributions to the profession. 

Selection process

Nominated by the NZSTA conference committee with a rationale/supporting material. The conference committee typically nominates two individuals, and the NZSTA board makes the final decision.

Acknowledged by

  • Keynote presentation of their work at the biennial NZSTA conference. 
    Complimentary travel, accommodation and conference registration (conference budget). 
  • Invite to share the presentation on the NZSTA website +/- submit it for publication in the Speech, Language and Hearing Journal.