What do we do? » Awards and Grants » Practitioner - Clinical Field Supervisors Award

Recognises significant contributions to clinical field supervisory practice.

The Practising Award for Clinical Field Supervisor’s Award is for therapists who demonstrate excellent field supervision by offering frequent placement opportunities for students, showing innovation and initiative in their supervision practices, and consistently upholding professional and ethical standards.  Nominees must be members of the NZSTA. 

The clinical directors from the three NZSTA-accredited programmes provide this award in partnership.

Value: The award is valued at $900. This award may be shared across multiple winners.


Selection Criteria:

  1. Regular commitment to field education with speech-language therapy programmes (provides at least two placements within 18 months).
  2. Consistent positive evaluations and recommendations by students.
  3. Providing creative enhancement and exceptional field education and support to students through
  •   stimulating, challenging, and developing the intellectual and practical capacity of the student.
  •   demonstrating sensitivity to the students’ differing learning needs and styles.
  •   accessibility to their student.
  •   promoting integrity and adherence to professional standards and ethics.
  •   embedding the articles of te Tiriti o Waitangi by demonstrating tino rangatiratanga/self-determination, partnership, equity, active protection, and flexibility through culturally appropriate options.
  •   providing a supportive learning relationship.
  •   providing constructive, appropriate, and timely feedback to the clinical directors regarding the students’ development.

      4. Nominees must be current members of NZSTA

 Nominate Now 

Award Recipients from Previous Years

  • 2023: Awarded to the Spectrum Care Team - Hannah Barnes and Sarah Brown
  • 2022: Awarded to the Tairawhiti DHB SLT team
  • 2021: Awarded jointly to Auckland DHB and Canterbury DHB 
  • 2020: Awarded to Fiona Dominick 
  • not awarded in 2019
  • 2018: Awarded to Bronwyn Hunter 
  • 2017: Awarded to Maegan van Solkema 
  • 2016: Awarded to Jessica Clews and Anthony Ting 
  • 2015: awarded to Claire Ellen-Roberts 
  • 2014: awarded to Cheryl Palmer