What do we do? » Awards and Grants » Clinical Field Supervisors Award

The Clinical Field Supervisor’s Award is for therapists who demonstrate excellent field supervision by offering frequent placement opportunities for students, showing innovation and initiative in their supervision practices, and consistently upholding professional and ethical standards.  Nominees must be members of the NZSTA. 

The clinical directors from the three NZSTA accredited programmes provide this award in partnership.

Value: The award is valued at $900


Awarded in 2023 to: Spectrum Care team Hannah Barnes and Sarah Brown


Application and Eligibility

1. Current membership of the NZSTA.
2. Demonstrates professional and ethical standards in their practice.
3. Offers frequent placements to at least two NZSTA-accredited universities within an 18 months period.
4. Demonstrates innovation and initiative in supervision practices.
5. Provides high-quality clinical education in the workplace.
6. Provides constructive, appropriate and timely feedback regarding the students’ development to the clinical directors.

This award is provided in partnership with the clinical directors from the three NZSTA accredited universities and the NZSTA.

The award is valued at $900

Award Process:
The clinical directors from the NZSTA accredited universities will identify a potential award winner.

They will submit, in writing, the name of the person or people meeting the award criteria to the executive director by February 1st each year.

Evidence of how the nominee meets the criteria will be required. The winner(s) of the Clinical Field Educator’s Service Award will be endorsed by the NZSTA Board and announced at the NZSTA AGM each year.

Award Recipients from Previous Years

Recipient for the 2021 year: Awarded to the Tairawhiti DHB SLT team

Recipient for the 2020 year: Awarded jointly to Auckland DHB and Canterbury DHB in 2021

Recipient for the 2019 year: Awarded to Fiona Dominick in 2020

This was not awarded for 2018

Recipient for the 2017 year: Awarded to Bronwyn Hunter in 2018

Recipients for the 2016 year: Awarded to Maegan van Solkema in 2017

Recipients for the 2015 year: Awarded to Jessica Clews and Anthony Ting in 2016

Recipient for the 2014 year: awarded to Claire Ellen-Roberts in 2015

Recipient for the 2013 year: awarded to Cheryl Palmer in 2014