What do we do? » Awards and Grants » Bicultural Awards » NZSTA Tohu Kaupapa Māori


NZSTA would like to recognise a team or individual service and commitment to kaupapa Māori in the workplace. This award is not limited to speech-language therapists; however, nominees are expected to contribute positively to speech-language therapy spaces.

Value: $1,000
Each nominee will receive a certificate recognising their commitment to kaupapa Māori.


Selection process:

Nominees will have been observed to demonstrate:  

  • NZSTA values of aroha, whanaungatanga, rangatiratanga, and kotahitanga 
  • Positive leadership by embedding kaupapa Māori and promoting tikanga within the workplace 
  • Commitment to learning and continued sharing of kaupapa Māori (for example, te reo Māori, tikanga, etc)  


Evidence will take the form of reference/nomination detailing how the individual/team have demonstrated leadership in kaupapa Māori.

Award Process:

The winner of the Tohu Kaupapa Māori Award will be determined by the Māori rōpū and will be announced in September.

Applications close at 5pm on 30 June annually.

Apply now

 Any queries, please contact culturaldevelopment@speechtherapy.org.nz

Awarded in 2023 to: Libby Coates, Aoife O'Reilly, Gwen Kerrison, Adele Siave, and Biddy Robb

Libby, Aoife, Gwen, Adele and Biddy developed a working party to develop a Kete Mātauranga for Pākehā/Tauiwi SLTs in health titled "Towards Equity: A Guide for SLTs working in Health". 

Recognising the journey SLTs are on with decolonising practice and how we continue to mature and move forward, this working party identified five pou (pillars) that explore equity.  As a group, they collected relevant resources, links, and learning that fall under each pou to encourage cultural safety through self-directed learning and reflection.

The group working party showed humility in the way they developed these resources by taking initiative and checking in with Māori SLTs along the way. By taking leadership, they have developed a resource that takes some of the pressure off Māori SLTs to be teachers in the workplace.

Award Recipient from Previous Years

2022: Awarded to Tua o Te Pae - Geneva Hakaraia-Tino, Mary Browne & Ann Smaill
2021: Awarded to Tracy Karanui-Golf