University Programmes

The New Zealand Speech-language Therapists’ Association is the recognised national body for speech-language therapists.

New Zealand university programmes currently offering speech-language therapy degrees with professional entry programmes are listed below, including their accreditation classification and the term of current accreditation.

Full accreditation is valid for 7 years. Accreditation will automatically lapse at the end of the determined period.

In the year prior to the end of the accredited term, universities are required to seek re-accreditation. The university must submit documentation for review by a  New Zealand Speech-language Therapists’ Association Accreditation Panel. This includes a site visit at the university.

Accreditation and re-accreditation is taken very seriously by the NZSTA. This protects the Public by ensuring graduating speech-language therapists are adequately qualified and maintains the  New Zealand Speech-language Therapists’ Association’s commitment to the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA).


Accredited New Zealand universities:

*Provisional Accreditation is awarded when the NZSTA Board finds, based on the Accreditation Panel’s report, that the assessments, currency and scope of Programme content (as reflected in subject outlines and topics) do not yet adequately demonstrate that the Programme fulfils the accreditation criteria, but that there are a limited number of changes which need to be made to reach those criteria. The NZSTA will indicate which specified conditions must be met to allow full accreditation to be awarded. When provisional accreditation is awarded the NZSTA Board sets a date within 12 months of the initial provisional accreditation award by which specified conditions must be met. If the Programme fails to comply with the specified requirements within that 12 month period it will be deemed ‘not accredited’.

Further information about University Accreditation, the Accreditation Process, and Accreditation Fees please click here.