NZSTA 2021 Conference

The New Zealand Speech-language Therapists’ Association 2021 Conference Committee is delighted to announce the new dates for the conference Aoraki Iho Ake: Grounded – Aspiring – Connected are Monday 30 August – Wednesday 1 September, 2021.

Drawing inspiration from Aoraki, the most well-known maunga tupuna (ancestral mountain) of the Southern Alps, and from the imagery of Iho Ake ‘from Earth to heaven and everything in between’, this conference seeks to create a panoramic and inclusive view of speech-language therapy in New Zealand 2021, its local community and global partnerships.

From the grounded practice that we bring to our workplaces every day, to the research, innovations and service improvements to which we aspire and the ways in which we gain insight and vigour from each other and those we work alongside, Aoraki Iho Ake will promote conversations that strengthen and enhance the ability of the backbone of our Association, our members and colleagues, to articulate new knowledge in concert and to flex with increasing service demands.

Aoraki Iho Ake: Grounded – Aspiring – Connected will be held at The Chateau on the Park Christchurch – A DoubleTree by Hilton hotel.

Our venue has gardens, accommodation and parking aplenty and is adjacent to the Hagley Park which leads to Central City and is close to the cafés and shops of Riccarton.

Bounded by sea and rivers, and sitting between the landmark Port Hills and Canterbury Plains looking out to the snow-capped Southern Alps, Christchurch is a city of verdant beauty, compassionate connection and creative endeavour.

To celebrate this, our conference dinner will be held at the landmark Christchurch Art Gallery.

Important dates:

Monday 11 January 2021: Call for papers goes live

Tuesday 9 March 2021: Call for papers closes

Monday 24 May 2021: Notification to authors if accepted/not accepted into the conference programme

Tuesday 15 June 2021: Online conference programme and registration goes live

Conference Committee:

Conference Convenor- Julianne Johns; Scientific Programme Chair – Toby McCrae; and Kate Cook, Bernice Goh, Naomi Grigg and Ruth Ramsay.

Conference Manager – Pamela Richards –