Expert Advisor Information

Expert Advisors – Role Description

The role of Expert Advisor is one which is highly valued by the NZSTA, the membership and our communities. An Expert Advisor is someone with a clinical or non-clinical area of expertise who can be called on by the association to; provide an expert opinion to the Association or public on a document or policy, act as a media spokesperson, be contacted by membership on clinical and non-clinical issues as related to their area of specialism, to be involved in association working parties and to be consulted on other related areas.

You can request to become an Expert Advisor by submitting your application form together with your CV to the Professional Development portfolio holder for the Executive Council. The Executive Council will review your application against the following criteria:

  • A current practising member
  • A record of good standing with the Association
  • More than 5 years’ full time experience in the nominated expert area
  • Demonstrated recognition, both nationally and internationally, of expertise in the nominated expert area.

Please complete the Expert Advisors Nomination Form and send this via email with your CV (see address below) or email Claire Winward at for further information.

Current Expert Advisers:

“Introducing Emily Jones MSc – NZSTA Expert Advisor in Paediatric Feeding and Swallowing and Senior Professional Clinician at Massey University. Firstly, congratulations on graduating with your Masters. Thank you for sharing some of the clinical work you are doing and we look forward to seeing you on the Sunday Programme!” – NZSTA Exec

Emily Jones MSC

‘Top Tips’ to achieve success with Avoidant Restrictive Food Intake Disorder

Emily Jones ( – Paediatric Feeding and Swallowing

Selena Donaldson ( – Traumatic Brain Injury

Fiona Hewerdine (– Adult Neurodegenerative Conditions and Palliative Care

Lydia O’Connor ( – Hearing Impairment and Cochlear Implant

Turid Peters ( – Paediatric Dysphagia

Anna Miles ( – Adult Dysphagia

Annette Rotherham ( – Aphasia

Catherine Epps ( – Leadership

Carlene Perris ( – Voice